Home > More INDepth Stories > Indiana Living Legends 2016 > Site Search Results

Indiana Living Legends 2016

Join us as we honor leader Mitch Daniels, conductor Henry Leck, historian Jim Madison, trailblazer Brian Payne and philanthropist Yvonne Shaheen – extraordinary Hoosiers with contributions to Indiana and the nation. We will celebrate them on July 22 at the annual Indiana Living Legends Gala, a black-tie event including a reception, gourmet dinner, dessert and coffee, and the awards ceremony.

Mitch DanielsMitch Daniels

Mitchell E. Daniels Jr. is the 12th president of Purdue University and the former governor of Indiana. He was elected Indiana’s 49th governor in 2004 in his first bid for any elected office, then re-elected in 2008 with more votes than any candidate for public office in the state’s history. During his tenure, Indiana went from bankruptcy to a AAA credit rating, led the nation in infrastructure building and passed sweeping education reforms. After a series of transformations, which included the biggest tax cut in state history, and a host of other reforms aimed at strengthening the Indiana economy, Indiana’s business climate is now rated among the nation’s best.

At Purdue, President Daniels has prioritized student affordability and reinvestment in the university’s strengths. Breaking with a 36-year trend, Purdue has held tuition unchanged from 2013 through at least the 2017-18 academic year. Simultaneously, room rates have remained steady, meal plan rates have fallen about 10 percent, and student borrowing has dropped 23 percent while investments in student success and STEM research have undergone unprecedented growth. 

In recognition of his leadership as both a governor and a university president, he was named among the Top 50 World Leaders by Fortune Magazine in March 2015.

Previously, the former governor served as president of Eli Lilly’s North American Pharmaceutical Operations, senior advisor to President Reagan, and director of the Office of Management and Budget under President George W. Bush. 

Henry LeckHenry Leck

An internationally recognized choral director, Henry Leck is a professor emeritus in choral music at Butler University. He is the founder and conductor laureate of the Indianapolis Children’s Choir, and he served as artistic director for 30 years. Under his leadership, the organization grew to and continues to be one of the largest and most respected children’s choir programs in the world. Mr. Leck recently arranged and conducted the national anthem for Kelly Clarkson and the Indianapolis Children’s Choir at Super Bowl XLVI.

Mr. Leck has received many honors including the Sagamore of the Wabash and the State of Indiana Distinguished Hoosier Award. He and the choir received the Indiana Governor’s Arts Award, the highest honor in the arts in Indiana. Recently, Mr. Leck was named a recipient of the Lowell Mason Fellows Award, the highest award given by the National Association for Music Education. 

Mr. Leck is a specialist in choral techniques, the child’s voice, Dalcroze Eurhythmics, Laban and the boy’s changing voice. He has produced four teaching videos and a textbook, has served as lead author for a choral textbook series and is lead author of a new series of textbooks entitled Voices in Concert.

Jim MadisonJim Madison

James H. Madison is the Thomas and Kathryn Miller Professor Emeritus of History at Indiana University, Bloomington. An award-winning teacher, Dr. Madison has taught at Hiroshima University, Japan, and at the University of Kent, Canterbury, England. He serves on the boards of Indiana Humanities and the Indiana Historical Society and as a member of the Indiana Bicentennial Commission.

Dr. Madison is the author of several books, including Eli Lilly: A Life; A Lynching in the Heartland: Race and Memory in America; and Slinging Doughnuts for the Boys: An American Woman in World War II.

Dr. Madison’s most recent books are Hoosiers: A New History of Indiana, co-published by Indiana Historical Society Press and Indiana University Press, for adult readers, and Hoosiers and the American Story for young readers.

Brian PayneBrian Payne

Brian Payne is president and CEO of the $725 million Central Indiana Community Foundation and The Indianapolis Foundation. Since he joined CICF in November 2000, the foundation’s annual grantmaking has doubled to almost $50 million. Un¬der Mr. Payne’s direction, CICF staff and board redefined the foundation’s business model and created clarity and focus on how best to accomplish the foundation’s mission to inspire, sup¬port and practice philanthropy, leader¬ship and service in Central Indiana.

Mr. Payne is also the founder/leader of the Indianapolis Cultural Trail: A Legacy of Gene and Marilyn Glick. The Cultural Trail is a $63 million, 8-mile, beautifully designed and landscaped pedestrian and bicycle pathway that connects every significant arts, cultural, heritage, sports and entertainment venue in Indianapolis’ dynamic downtown. Mr. Payne has been a featured speaker about the Cultural Trail at conferences throughout the U.S. and Canada.

Mr. Payne is the recipient of the Indianapolis Business Journal Michael A. Carroll Leadership Award, Visit Indy’s prestigious Bill McGowan Leadership Award and the Indiana University Public Policy Institute’s John Krauss Award. He has also been honored as the Indiana Citizen Planner of the Year and has been recognized as one of the world’s most influential Hoosiers.

Yvonne ShaheenYvonne Shaheen

A generous supporter of numerous Central Indiana arts, educational and nonprofit organizations, Yvonne Shaheen lends her talents as a board member and fundraising leader. She has been a member of the Universi¬ty of Indianapolis board of trustees for more than two decades. She also serves on boards of directors for the Arts Council of Indianapolis, the Central Indiana Corporate Partnership, Community Hospital, the Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce, the Indianapolis Symphony Orches¬tra, United Way of Central Indiana, WFYI Public Media and more. Over the years, Mrs. Shaheen has also been linked closely with organizations such as the Children’s Museum of Indianap¬olis, where several dinosaurs on display are named for members of her family.

Mrs. Shaheen is a former elementary school teacher who became president and CEO of Long Electric following her husband’s death in 1987. When she retired in 2004, the company was the largest woman-owned electrical contractor in the state. Mrs. Shaheen has received many awards, including the Indiana Lifetime Philanthropy Award, the Jack Heiney Award for Philanthropic Leadership and the Sagamore of the Wabash. She holds honorary doctorate degrees from both Purdue University and the University of Indianapolis.

Living Legends Gala:

WHEN Friday, July 22 | 5:30 p.m.
WHERE Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana History Center450 West Ohio Street Indianapolis
COST $250, $350 Patron All but $75 is a tax-deductible gift in support of IHS statewide educational programs.
INFO Call (317) 233-5658 to receive an invitation or to purchase tickets.