Home > More INDepth Stories > IHS Seeks Award Nominations > Site Search Results

IHS Seeks Award Nominations

2014 Call for Nominations awards dinner photo

Award Categories
Nomination Instructions
Annual Founders Day Dinner and Awards
Frequently Asked Questions

2013 Winners


Each year, the Indiana Historical Society recognizes outstanding individuals whose efforts have enriched the lives of others by conveying awareness and appreciation of Indiana’s history on local, regional and statewide levels.

Award Categories

Caleb Mills Indiana History Teacher of the Year – to a teacher (of 4th through 12th grades) currently teaching American or Indiana history and recognized by colleagues as making a significant contribution to the understanding of these two fields by his or her students

Dorothy Riker Hoosier Historian Award – to a historian who has made distinguished contributions to the field of historical scholarship and/or the affairs and activities of IHS

Eli Lilly Lifetime Achievement Award – to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions over an extended period of time to the field of history and/or the affairs of IHS

Hubert Hawkins History Award – to a local historian for distinguished service and career in local history

Willard C. Heiss Family History/Genealogy Award – to a family historian for distinguished service or career in Indiana family history, including presentation, use of materials and preservation

Outstanding Historical Organization Award – to a local or county historical society, organization or site in Indiana that has demonstrated remarkable public services and programs to its community

Indiana History Outstanding Organization Event or Project Award – to an organization for an exceptional educational and/or Bicentennial-related event or history project implemented during the past year, either one-time or ongoing, and relating to that organization’s mission (examples include reenactments, publications, innovative media usage, exceptional teacher training, and displays or exhibitions). Special consideration will be given to those designated as bicentennial projects in celebration of the state's anniversary.

Nomination Instructions

Download a nomination packet here, or call (317) 234-7798. Nominations must be postmarked no later than Aug. 1, 2014.

Annual Founders Day Dinner and Awards

2014 award winners will be honored at the annual Founders Day Dinner on Monday, Dec. 1, 2014.

2014 Awards Call for nominations
Porter County Museum accepts award.
2013 honorees represented many areas of the state


Frequently Asked Questions


Where can I get a nomination form?
Download the nomination form and instructions here. Call (317) 234-7798 or email kfetters@indianahistory.org to request one via email.

Which award category should I choose?
Choose the category that you feel best describes the work of the person or organization being nominated. The Awards Committee reserves the right to move nominees into different categories, award multiple nominees within a category or decline granting an award within a category as appropriate.

Should I nominate the organization or one person from the organization?
Both the Outstanding Historical Organization Award and the Indiana History Outstanding Event or Project Award are given to an organization rather than an individual. A nomination for either of these awards should still include the name and contact information for someone at the organization who can be the main contact in the event that the organization is selected as an honoree. If the achievements of an individual from an organization meet the qualifications for any of the other award categories, that individual may be nominated separately.

What material is required along with the nomination form?
All nominations must include the nomination form and a minimum of two letters of support. Additional material which help to document the individual’s or organization’s work may include additional letters of support, newspaper articles, brochures, photographs, book title pages, resumes, mission statements and project summaries. Please ensure that all supporting documents are copied on 8½ x 11 paper.

What should I say in my letter?
Letters of support should clearly state the nominator’s relationship to the nominee and knowledge of his/her/its achievements. Letters may also address the quality of work undertaken by the nominee and/or describe the nominee’s impact on the community.

Who makes up the award selection committee?
The Awards committee is composed of a diverse panel of Indiana Historical Society staff, trustees and community members as appointed by the IHS Executive Committee.  

To whom do I address the letter?
Letters should be addressed to the Awards Committee and mailed to 450 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202.

Can I nominate myself?
There are no rules to discourage self-nomination. However, the nomination should include at least two letters of support for people who know you or your organization.

When will I be notified about my nomination's status?
All nominators will be notified in writing about the outcome of the Awards selection in late September. Award winners will also be contacted in late September.

I missed the deadline.  Can I resubmit my nomination next year?
Nominations will be accepted only if they are postmarked on or before Aug. 1, 2014. If you miss the deadline, you are welcome to resubmit your nomination the following year. With the exception of the Indiana History Outstanding Event or Project Award, nominations may be resubmitted if the person or group has not received an award in the previous years. Keep a copy of your nomination materials for the resubmission, as the copy received by IHS will not be returned to you.

I have additional questions. Who do I contact?
Please send an e-mail to Kay Fetters at kfetters@indianahistory.org or call her at (317) 234-7798.


Congratulations to the 2013 Award Winners


Caleb Mills Indiana History Teacher of the Year
Ashley M. Greeley, Lafayette

Dorothy Riker Hoosier Historian Award
Beth Ann Bassett, Brook

Eli Lilly Lifetime Achievement Award
Phyllis White Geeslin, Indianapolis

Hubert Hawkins History Award
Elin Christianson, Hobart

Willard C. Heiss Family History/Genealogy Award
Larry M. Burmeister, English; Max and Judy Wiesenauer, Georgetown

Outstanding Historical Organization Award
Carroll County Wabash & Erie Canal Association, Delphi

Indiana History Outstanding Event or Project Award
Greensburg Community High School, Greensburg; North Manchester Historical Society, North Manchester; Porter County Museum of History, Valparaiso; South Shore Convention and Visitors Authority, Hammond