Home > Calendar > IHS Author Series > Site Search Results

IHS Author Series

Sept. 15, 2015

Noon to 1 p.m.
Multipurpose Room, History Center

Part of the Indiana Historical Society’s commemoration of the State Bicentennial, Indiana’s 200: The People Who Shaped the Hoosier State recognizes the people who made enduring contributions to the state of Indiana in its 200-year history.

Written by 136 historians, scholars, biographers and independent researchers, the biographical essays in this book will enhance the public’s knowledge and appreciation of those who made a difference in the lives of Hoosiers, the country and even the world. Subjects profiled in the book include individuals from law, politics, art, music, entertainment, literature, sports, education, business/industry, religion, science/invention/technology, as well as “the notorious.” Those among the 200 selected include such famous names as James Whitcomb Riley, Hoagy Carmichael, Madam C. J. Walker, Theodore Dreiser, Gus Grissom, Saint Theodore Guerin, Michael Jackson, Abraham Lincoln, Otis Bowen, Cole Porter, May Wright Sewall, Red Skelton, T.C. Steele, Gene Stratton-Porter, Tecumseh, Kurt Vonnegut, Ryan White, Sarah Bolton and John Wooden.

Editor Linda C. Gugin is an emeriti professor of political science at Indiana University Southeast, and editor James E. St. Clair is professor of journalism at IU Southeast. The two also served as editors of the Indiana Historical Society Press books The Governors of Indiana  and Justices of the Indiana Supreme Court. Gugin and St. Clair also worked together to produce the books Sherman Minton: New Deal Senator, Cold War Justice and Chief Justice Fred M. Vinson: A Political Biography.

Bring your own lunch or purchase food from our Stardust Terrace Café.



1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30
Oct. >
Sept. 15
Indiana’s 200:The People who Shaped the Hoosier ...
Sept. 19
Kevin Kling
Sept. 30
You Are There 1816: Indiana Joins the Nation