Home > About IHS > Media Resources > Hoosier Students Make Mark at National Contest for National History Day > Site Search Results

Hoosier Students Make Mark at National Contest for National History Day

June 15, 2017

Indianapolis—The Indiana Historical Society (IHS) proudly announces eight Hoosier students are coming home with awards after competing at the National Contest for National History Day (NHD). The event took place June 11 through 15 at the University of Maryland's campus in College Park, Maryland.

The Indiana delegation of 60 students competed against 3,000 other students from across the country and from international schools around the world. Hoosier students took home two awards for Outstanding State Entry. In addition, Indiana students received the Captain Ken Coskey Naval History Award, a $1,000 prize for history projects that best capture an appreciation for naval history.

National History Day in Indiana (NHDI) is a year-long program dedicated to enhancing history education in elementary and secondary schools. Students in grades four through 12 explore a historical subject and then use their research to create documentaries, exhibits, papers, performances or websites. The 2017 theme is "Taking a Stand in History."

NHDI has been organized by IHS for more than a decade and has played an active part in the state's schools for more than 25 years, with more than 5,000 Indiana students taking part annually.

NHDI contests are sponsored by IHS, with support from the Hoover Family Foundation, the Richard W. and Irene Rooker Family Foundation, the TCU Foundation and the Vigran Family Foundation. For more information on NHDI and other IHS programs, call (317) 232-1882 or visit www.indianahistory.org/historyday.


Indiana's Project and Special Award Winners

Outstanding State Entry - Senior Division
Liam Hesting, Jackson Longenbaugh, Grace Mills and Madison Schroeder
Columbia City High School (Columbia City)
Senior Group Website, "A Special Kennedy"

Outstanding State Entry - Junior Division
Captain Ken Coskey Naval History Award (Special Award)
Keller Bailey, Jason Benyousky, Geoffrey Hochstetler and Ryun Hoffert
Warsaw Community Schools (Warsaw)
Junior Group Performance, "The Many Stands of Pearl Harbor"